Turnbull launches windfarm working group


"While primary responsibility in these matters rests with state and territory governments, there should be a more consistent approach than currently exists across Australia," Mr Turnbull said.

Members of the working group represent a balance of community, rural, local government and wind energy industry interests. The members are:

  • Denis Smedley, a senior executive of the Department of the Environment and Water Resources (Chair)
  • Ms Liz Johnstone, senior planning adviser at the Municipal Association of Victoria
  • Andrew Richards, chair of the Australian Wind Energy Association, a vice president of the Business Council for Sustainable Energy, and Executive Manager, Corporate Affairs and Marketing, Pacific Hydro
  • Brett Thomas, managing director of Melbourne arm of Acciona, a world leader in renewable energy
  • Tim Le Roy, spokesperson for the Tarwin Valley Coastal Guardians
  • Yvonne Wenham, spokesperson for Friends of Future Generations (SA)
  • David Clarke, a farmer from Waubra, Victoria
  • Di Jay, CEO of the Planning Institute of Australia
  • Colin Griffith, CEO, Australian Council of National Trusts

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.