Greens to decide ACT’s next government

Greens to decide ACT’s next government

AAPUpdated October 27, 2012, 5:21 pm

AAP © Enlarge photo

The Greens will hold the balance of power in the ACT Legislative Assembly, after Labor and the Liberals won eight seats each, resulting in a hung parliament.

Greens MLA Shane Rattenbury is the sole remaining representative of the minor party, and is now expected to begin negotiations to decide who will form the territory’s next government.

Elections ACT completed counting the vote on Saturday, a week after the election.

Electoral Commissioner Phil Green announced the names of the candidates who were elected to the 17-member parliament.

With several close races for the final places in the three multi-member electorates, the make up of the assembly has not been clear for much of the week.

Labor and the Liberals each won 38.9 per cent of the primary vote.

On numbers, the Liberals were a mere 41 votes ahead, out of more than 221,000 formal ballots cast.

The Greens won 10.7 per cent of the primary vote – a 4.9 per cent rebuff from the 2008 election.

The formal declaration of the poll is likely to happen on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply